in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 12-22-2011 12:18 PM by stefan. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-20-2011 12:17 PM

• lauge
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-20-2011
    • Posts 1
    • Bronze Member

Connecting an old Beogram5500 to modern speakers

Hi everyone.

I have a problem that I simply can't find a solution to anywhere. I have an old Beomaster 5500 and a Beogram 5500 (records), which I have been using for some time. However, in my setup the Beomaster seems quite redundant. It handles the audio input from the Beogram, only to forward it on to my speakers through the frontfacing 3.5 mm audio sockets.

I would like to remove the Beomaster altogether and simply connect the Beogram directly to the speakers, since they already contain amplifiers.

I'm guessing I need a converter that can convert a male 7-pin DIN connector to a 3.5 male jack, but I'm not able to find such a connector anywhere.

Now, I'll be the first to admit that I'm no sound expert, so please tell if there is something I'm missing, or if there is a better solution. However, if anyone know where I can get such a converter, please let me know.

Merry Christmas from Denmark,

Lauge

• 12-20-2011 12:53 PM In reply to

Re: Connecting an old Beogram5500 to modern speakers

lauge:
    I'm guessing I need a converter that can convert a male 7-pin DIN connector to a 3.5 male jack, but I'm not able to find such a connector anywhere.

You are correct in a way, but the 5500 does not give a line signal as it has no RIAA preamp built in, this RIAA preamp is in the beomaster. An external one is available from lifestyle AV:

http://lifestyle-av.co.uk/details.asp?sectionId=4&productId=7094

With this you should be good to go!

• 12-22-2011 11:46 AM In reply to