in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 01-07-2012 1:32 AM by joeyboygolf. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (17 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-25-2007 1:38 AM

• MC3
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-25-2007
    • Posts 1
    • Bronze Member

Beolaba 6000 repair

Newbie here--first post

I've got a pair of Beolab 6000s from about 1996. The rubber surrounds in all four midrange speakers are cracked/torn. I would like to repair them, but the surrounds that are sold on ebay do not fit these speakers. I have some skill at this and I want to repair them myself and not send them to a dealer for repairs. 

The local dealer I talked to was hostile to the idea of selling me spare parts. I understand that he has a business, but instead of making a profit selling me spare parts, he ends up making no profit at all from me. In any event, the cost of repairs would be about the same as what I could buy the same speakers for on ebay, so it is definitely not worth it.

I understand that this is a known problem with Beolab 6000 speakers, but I see almost nothing about how to repair them or replace parts on the Internet. Does anybody have any suggestions for repair options? Can I buy the midrange speakers a la carte? Other posts on this forum seem to suggest that it is possible to purchase replacement speaker parts for a fairly low cost.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I miss listening to my speakers.

• 10-25-2007 3:52 AM In reply to

Re: Beolaba 6000 repair

Hello and welcome to the forum.

It would be worth PM'ing Martin (username Dillen) to see what he can do for you as he has a lot of expertise in this area. He is based in Denmark but is a great source of hard to find parts and does a mail order repairs service.

Alternatively you could send the drive units away for a rebuild to Recone labs: