in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 11-10-2009 11:54 PM by RedGrant. 15 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (16 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-04-2009 2:45 PM

• scuba
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-28-2008
    • Posts 48
    • Bronze Member

Reel to reel for dummies

Hi, i bought a Beocord 1200 yesterday, partly for its cool looks and its one step closer to have a complete 1200 set up,anyway if the Beocord survives the shiping it wil probably be hooked up to my BM1200 sometime next week,just one problem, i have never used a reel to reel player before, i know almoust nothing about them,are there any good "how to" webbpages or books about reel to reels out there?  

Jon

• 11-04-2009 6:28 PM In reply to

Re: Reel to reel for dummies

They are excellent! Good wide tape and fast tape speed makes for plenty of headroom and good quiet and dynamic recordings. On a 2400, the recording was much the same as source. However good tape  is tricky to find and the tapes are a pain to handle! You'll not have a problem using them but I doubt they will become over used!! Hate to say this, but you will be lucky if it works - they almost all need servicing - either the heads will be worn or the brakes will be shot. The service manual on site is a good one!

• 11-04-2009 9:19 PM In reply to

• mediabobny
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-19-2007
    • Greenwich Village, NYC
    • Posts 336
    • Founder

Two accessories that come to mind are a head demagnitizer and a tape splice kit.  'Checked eBay and saw them both on there. 

I've always owned a RTR (Pioneer RT 707).  No cassette player will give you that much play/record time on a single cassette.

• 11-04-2009 11:59 PM In reply to

• SWISS_2
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-16-2007
    • Neuchatel, Suisse
    • Posts 552
    • Gold Member

Scuba;