in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 01-06-2009 4:11 PM by Luigi. 17 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (18 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-17-2008 4:03 AM

• scott451
    • Top 500 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 05-22-2007
    • Paris, France
    • Posts 132
    • Founder

beo - mac - waf

hi all,

i have a plan and i need a little advice. i'm new to the beo-mac forum because i am just now switching to mac from pc !

the plan is to have a imac to remplace my aging pc and a mac mini to become an always on music server. the imac would be in the living room and the mac mini would live in a tech closet with my beoport. this is very important for the waf because i'm trying to minimize cables in the visible part of the house.

i plan to leave the mac mini 'headless' and access it uniquely through a vnc client, like chicken vnc or back to my mac. the plan further calls for control of itunes on the mac mini for n.tunes via an iphone with the apple remote application. from what i have read, this should work though i would love to have any comments or suggestions.

for the plan to work the mac mini needs to be basically invisible for my wife. she will want to manipulate itunes on the imac in the living room - play songs, create playlists, ... i am curious to know if it is possible for the itunes client on the imac to 'use' the itunes data on the mac mini.

i know it would be easier to remotely connect to the mac mini, but waf demands that i find some sort of soultion to avoid this. thanks in advances for any help !

scott

Filed under: , , , ,
  • 10-17-2008 4:26 AM In reply to

Re: beo - mac - waf

Welcome the Mac world...

For start... you do not need Chicken of the VNC or any additional software to share your screen as it is already built into the operation system (From 10.5 Leopard).