in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-21-2008 3:45 AM by Peter. 27 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (28 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-13-2008 1:25 PM

General questions concerning the BeoMaster 901

Hello everyone,

as I am very new to the whole Hifi Equipment thing in general and B&O in particular, I ve got to ask a few (probably dumb) questions. Please excuse.

I am quite interested in getting a 901 as I really like the design. I am a design collector so looks do come first for me, even though we are speaking about music equipment. I also got most of my music stored as mp3's on my hard drive, with fairly high compression rates though.

My questions are now:

- Would it be possible to hook up my computer's soundcard to the 901?

- The 20W sound a bit meager to me. Is it still capable to put out some volume? Would it be possible to come close to "party levels" with it without damaging the unit? 

- What would be good speakers to go with it? I want 2 compact speakers. Doesn't have to be B&O, doesn't have to be too pricey. What I want is a versatile, dynamic sound and power. Oh, and good design maybe.

- Last but not least, are all the control elements on the front (sliders, buttons) made from aluminium?

Sorry guys, this thread must probably be a slap in the face to some of you. I hope you will talk to me anyhow.

Cheers,

Martin

• 02-13-2008 2:03 PM In reply to

Re: General questions concerning the BeoMaster 901

The 901 is a nice device but have a look at the Beomaster 3000 ,4000 and 4400 as well. Not a dissimilar design and a lot more usable power and in the case of the 4400 one of the best amplifiers B&O made. Also consider the 1500 which is like the 4400, a more modern design of amplifier than the 901.