in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 07-24-2009 5:16 PM by Friedmett. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-22-2009 9:25 AM

New Beosystem 6000 owner - some questions...

Afternoon all

I've just picked up a whole Beosystem 6000 and have a few questions.  I've scoured the forums for answers before posting but a few questions remain unanswered, so I'd really appreciate some wise words (as I'm a novice to all of this) – sorry for posting all at once – someone please tell me if I’d be better off breaking this up!

1. The BM6000 seems to be working perfectly - all LEDs operational, even heat on the heatsink, volume controls all working.  The system came with some S120s that need refoaming so in the meantime I was thinking of using some 3800s that I've got.  However I note there is no 4ohm rating listed for the BM6000, just 75W into 8ohm.  I don't want to damage either amp or speakers by matching inappropriately so providing I'm not driving these hard, will they be OK temporarily?  I've got some refoamed S80s so would they be preferable?  

2. I noted on the BM6000 page on here that an Active AM Antenna AA 10 was listed as an accessory, which confused me a little as I thought they were FM only.  Not really knowing what the antenna was and being a big fan of Radio Five Live, I wondered if it was perhaps a clever self contained AM receiver that could be plugged in via a spare input.  I found one of these for sale recently and bought it unseen before picking up the 6000.  On receiving the antenna, it's obviously just a powered AM aerial - can someone just confirm that it's not for use with the BM6000 after all?