in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 04-17-2008 5:55 PM by kevinoils. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-06-2008 12:44 PM

• prime
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-06-2008
    • Posts 2
    • Bronze Member

MMC cartridges - I need a backup

Hi my name is Rich and this is my first time posting in this forum and any help would be appreciated.  I have a Bang & Olufsen Beogram RX 2 turntable.  I would like to get a mmc cartridge as a backup.  Is there any chance I can get one under $100.  I seen some prices online and they seem a bit high.  Thanks again for you help!

• 02-06-2008 2:06 PM In reply to

• Medogsfat
    • Top 10 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 02-21-2007
    • *Moderator* Leeds, Yorkshire
    • Posts 4,045
    • Founder

Re: MMC cartridges - I need a backup

Hi Rich & welcome to BeoworldSmile

Is it fair to assume that the cartridges you have seen on line are from www.sound-smith.com ?

If so then they really are your best bet by a long shot. Their SMMC4 is far superior to the orignal B&O MMC4, I know as I own one as do other Beoworld members! Not as refined cosmetically but worth every penny though. I wouldn't bother with a 2nd hand B&O item as the suspension is likely to have hardened by now and you have no guarantees over its longevity, unlike the soundsmith ones which have a full warranty.

Chris.

The use of metaphors should be avoided like the plague. They're like a red rag to a bull to me.

• 02-07-2008 5:41 PM In reply to

• prime
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-06-2008
    • Posts 2
    • Bronze Member

thanks...seems like my best bet.  Just checking :)
  • 04-17-2008 2:34 PM In reply to

Where are you? If you want it, I could sell you a good TX turntable and MMC2 cart for $200 but you'd need to pick it up in northern NJ, USA. phil