in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 06-27-2007 8:55 AM by sfbp. 31 replies.
Page 2 of 2 (32 items) < Previous 1 2
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-25-2007 2:38 AM In reply to

• PCPete
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 04-21-2007
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 24
    • Bronze Member

Re: Help with Beocord 1600 Belt repair

Stephen, I'm not an engineer, but the little theory I know would answer your question like this:

I think the motors are AC synchronous motors. If they were DC motors, the line frequency would be completely irrelevant in this context.

Having said that, there are two options for the designers (well, maybe three)...

1) Rewire the motor to use a different pole count that would result in the same # of revolutions at the higher AC frequency (remember, the voltage is mostly irrelevant in this situation); and/or

2) Use a smaller motor spindle, so even if the motor turned faster, the end result would be the capstan itself (the flywheel, etc) turning at the same speed; and/or

3) Use a bigger capstan (flywheel) - this would result in a much more accurate "ratio conversion".

It sounds like they may have done all three in this case.

The best way (the least unreliable, if you like) to check the belt size (assuming you don't have to do the three-hand belt replacement just to see) is to do the following:

1) Measure the distance between the centres of both the motor and flywheel spindles. Let's call this distance D.

2) Now measure the DIAMETER of the motor spindle, multiply by Pi (to get the circumference of the actual spindle), and halve it (since the belt only touches half the spindle at any one time. Call this Dm.

3) Do the same thing with the capstan spindle. The half circumference is Dc.