in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 10-22-2007 9:18 AM by Tom Morgan. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-14-2007 9:13 AM

• Tom Morgan
    • Not Ranked
      Male
    • Joined on 10-13-2007
    • Rochester Hills, MI
    • Posts 46
    • Bronze Member

Re-attatching BeoCenter 2300 glass doors

Hi All,

Guess I'm a veteran newbie, as I was a pretty active member on the old web site, I have just now re-signed up as a new member.  It is good to be back and I like what they have done to the place.  Hating to be redundant, I did a thorough search before posting this request.  I just received a BeoCenter 2300 in the mail I bought on eBay.  Problem is, one of the doors came off of its sliding mounts during shipment.  I also noticed that the door must have fallen before, as you can tell it was re-glued back on with an Elmer's type white glue.  The glue bled through the black paint on the glass and looks pretty bad.  Has anyone had any experience repairing this or is it best to just replace the door(s).  I am curious to know what type of (original) glue is used to hold the doors on?  Can you fix the "bleed through" on the doors black paint?  If I have to replace the doors, will I have to replace both of them?  If so, how much will this repair cost?  Thanks in advance for your support.  Tom

• 10-14-2007 9:22 AM In reply to

• Alex
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-16-2007
    • Bath & Cardiff, UK
    • Posts 2,990
    • Bronze Member

Re: Re-attatching BeoCenter 2300 glass doors

You could always have a go at removing the glue with a stanley knife, although making sure you don't push so hard that you scratch the glass, I'm sure there are others who can advise better than me for removing dried glue though!