in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-29-2012 12:46 PM by Zottenhond. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-27-2012 12:16 PM

Beomaster 8000 'Barn Find'

I recently rescued a bunch of vintage B&O hardware from the scrapheap, among it not one, but two Beomaster 8000's that have possibly not been in use for quite a while.

As expected, there are some issues with these receivers I'd like some knowledgeable input on - I am by no means an electronics expert (some messing with LEDs, arduino, basic soldering skills).

The good news: both cleaned up very nicely, have the original remote and they light up.

The bad:

No. 1:

• no sound from either the 4 speaker-outputs or headphones, regardless of the input used
    • the volume control worked a few times, then stopped responding
    • the tuning dial never worked (both tuning and volume still respond to the remote, so it is almost certainly a failure in the wheels or the processing of the signal from them)
    • one defective led in the balance display (not a disaster, just mentioning it to be complete)

No. 2: 

• Fully functional for about 10 minutes total, then a triple plopping noise and no more sound, otherwise all buttons and dials still work ok.