in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-24-2012 6:15 PM by SamWise72. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-19-2012 11:04 AM

Compatibility across systems/manufacturers

I stumbled into being interested in B&O because I need to build a new hi-fi. My marriage broke up, and my wife took the separates with her, leaving me with a little Aiwa midi system that really doesn't add up. I'm not a full-on audiophile, but I'm a musician, and I appreciate decent sound, so I decided to start buying some bits to put a system together. I thought I'd start with a turntable, so that I could at least hear my vinyl, even through the crappy system, and I stumbled on lots of beautiful old Beograms, and started really lusting after a tangential turntable. Now, I know the system I have right now won't get the best out of one, but the bigger question is, would I be able to use it at all? I have a phono in, and that's it. I'm also watching a Beocentre 4000 with a pair of S40's on ebay, and wondering whether that will accomodate a tangential turntable? I don't have any deepseated desire to control all these things centrally, and I guess I'm thinking in the medium term, I'll put together a Teac reference system with a turntable for downstairs, and perhaps a vintage B&O rig for upstairs, since there I'll be able to tolerate waiting while I figure out/restore things, whereas downstairs, I really just need decent music right now-ish. So, any problem connecting a Beogram 6006, for instance, either to the phonos of a regular system, or to a Beocentre 40000?

• 02-19-2012 12:09 PM In reply to

Re: Compatibility across systems/manufacturers

You will need a turntable with built in amp. Plug into aux.
  • 02-19-2012 2:45 PM In reply to

SamWise72: