in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-05-2012 9:12 PM by wesheltonj. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-07-2011 4:01 PM

Used Leica or new Nikon DLSR?

As above!

I am looking to buy a nice DLSR and really like the look of the Leica Digilux 2/3 cameras. I am a total amateur when it comes to photography and want to buy a nice camera to hopefully take some decent photographs with!

The Nikon D5000 has been recommended to me by a friend who is a photographer, but I think a Leica would be a cooler camera. 

Would it be foolish to opt for a second hand digilux camera over a new D5000? Can the pictures taken on the Leica be worse purely down to spec? I always thought that a decent quality camera could produce great photos regardless of specification (similar to the old/new hifi debate I suppose!)

I just want something that is reliable with decent performance that is easy to use really. The camera won't be used for any kind of professional work!

Any advice appreciated Laughing

• 11-07-2011 4:22 PM In reply to

Re: Used Leica or new Nikon DLSR?

The Leica may well hold its value more in years to come - I would suggest the Nikon will take better pictures, as long as you adjust the nut behind the handle properly....  Big Smile

• 11-07-2011 5:09 PM In reply to

• mbee
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-18-2007
    • Paris, France
    • Posts 1,133
    • Bronze Member

I will suggest the Nikon too (D5100 seems good, I've asked Nikon to borrow me one for my next trip in Asia, will see what it can do!!)

The Digilux are old things from the beginnings of the digital era : you get a cool Leica badge, but you will have difficulties to make any good picture (slow autofocus, slow shutter lag, low definition screen to check blur...).