in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 10-26-2011 2:04 PM by cooldude. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-21-2011 2:51 AM

• KalK
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-10-2009
    • Posts 27
    • Bronze Member

B&O AV 7000

I just bought a B&O AV 7000, in excellent condition I was wondering if anyone here would know if you can use it as a preamp and let me know how to connect it to a power amp.

How is the sound quality of this B & O unit as a Dolby Prologic processor when you compare it to todays Dolby Digital processors. My friend thinks that this AV7000 is probably better in terms of sound.

Also, could it be use as an input expander? I have a Beomaster 5000 receiver and I would like to have more input. Any help from this forum would be truly appreciated.

Cheers.

P.S Man this Beogram 5500 cd player is truly amazing and so is the Beomaster 5000.  

• 10-21-2011 11:12 AM In reply to

Re: B&O AV 7000

This unit is meant for use of powered speakers (beolab).

You could use passive speakers and connect the 7000 to specific B&O amp module (MCL2P) for each pair of speakers. Works just fine.

Sorry to say the sound of the dolby processor is adequate, not high end and newer formats are not compatible. Certainly is not up to current surround processor.

Yes, it actually works well as an B&O input expander, though the 5000 is not compatible. They use different IR remote codes.

You need a 5500,6500 or 7000 series or anything more recent.

• 10-21-2011 4:35 PM In reply to

• KalK
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-10-2009
    • Posts 27
    • Bronze Member

Many Thanks for your post here. How do you use it as a audio input expander

and as a preamp? Do you use subwoofer output as a preoutput?

Please let me know.

Cheers

• 10-23-2011 6:46 PM In reply to

Hello,