in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 07-11-2007 5:45 PM by sajpratty. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (17 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-06-2007 4:11 PM

Beogram 1100 turning slow

SmileHi,

As you've probably guessed I'm new to the world of turntables...

Recently got hold of a Beogram 1100 on ebay. 33's seem to play fine but when i try to play 45's the table turns way too slowly. i had a look at the belt and it seems pretty loose, although i don't know how much tension it's meant to have.

Does anybody know if there's a speed adjustment mechanism on this model, or is the problem something else?

Any help with this would be good!

Thanks! Smile

• 07-06-2007 4:45 PM In reply to

• Medogsfat
    • Top 10 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 02-21-2007
    • *Moderator* Leeds, Yorkshire
    • Posts 4,045
    • Founder

Re: Beogram 1100 turning slow

Hi cakeisnice & welcome to Beoworld

hopefully it's just the belt (a real possibilty) but these are ageing machines and there are a number of components which could be responsible. I would change the belt 1st - member Dillen (Martin) may be able to supply you with one and is something you should do anyway with a vintage deck. Once this is done then you will have a good starting point if the problem persists.

Chris.

The use of metaphors should be avoided like the plague. They're like a red rag to a bull to me.

• 07-06-2007 5:15 PM In reply to

Chris is quite correct, it is almost always the belt on these models. I had one of these a few years ago with the same symptoms, changed the belt, problem solved.

You will probably find that your 33 is a bit slow as well. Most noticeable on piano notes.

Contact Dillen, he will most definately sort you out!

Regards Graham

• 07-06-2007 5:53 PM In reply to

Thanks, I'll try changing the belt as soon as i can get one.