in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 07-21-2011 5:28 AM by ........... 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-17-2011 4:17 PM

Crazy Beocord 6000 modification idea.........

**If anyone fancies helping me with this I would be interested!**

I have a Beomaster 6000, Beocord 6000, Beogram 6006 which I use as my daily hifi. It's got a 3.5mm jack on TP2 for iPods etc. 

I mainly listen to radio and play vinyl to be honest. The main reason is that using my iPod/iPhone with it is awkward, scruffy and generally annoying. I never play tapes so the Beocord is gathering dust. 

Connected to my TV which is on the opposite side of the room is a Mac Mini which I use as a media server. It has my iTunes library on it (around 30gb ish) but because it is connected to the TV with no external speakers it is pointless using it for music when I have a nice hifi in the same room. 

I had an idea last night which has been playing on my mind and am looking for some idea's as to how feasible it is!

Basically I want to gut the Beocord, install Apple TV inside it connected to a small (maybe 7") screen behind the glass (probably have to get a new piece of glass cut because of the transfer). I then want to modify the buttons on the front to control an IR sender to the ATV mimicking the Apple remote. 

Smile

Would this work? I am thinking it wouldn't be too hard but I can't seem to find any LCD picture frames with HDMI input. 

Also I would need to get someone to build an IR sender because this would be beyond me!

Any help/advice appreciated!

• 07-18-2011 1:24 AM In reply to

Re: Crazy Beocord 6000 modification idea.........

Not sure I have the full picture in my head ...

Llewelyn:
    gut the Beocord, install Apple TV inside it

... do you mean put the MacMini inside the gutted carcass ?