in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 06-26-2011 6:36 AM by tournedos. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-22-2011 2:02 PM

• js
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 09-07-2007
    • Brussels
    • Posts 208
    • Silver Member

Beolab PowerLink/Line connection

In one of my secondary setups I have a modern audio master driving a pair of BL3. The BL3 are connected as follows:

Beosound PowerLink out -> existing 15m PL cable hidden in-wall and terminated with PL wall socket -> 5m PL cable visible -> BL3 PL in

I am now going to replace the modern Beosound with a vintage Beomaster and corresponding analogue sources, but I would like to keep the BL3. The vintage Beomaster has a variable Line out so in theory connecting to the BL3 Line in is simple. However, in order to use the PL cables that are already running into the walls, I guess that my only cabling option is somewhat more complex:

Beomaster line out -> RCA/PL adaptor -> existing 15m PL cable hidden in-wall -> PL/RCA adaptor plugged in PL wall socket-> 5m RCA cable visible -> BL3 Line in

My question is whether so many steps/adaptors/cables will deteriorate the signal?

Thanks, js

• 06-25-2011 12:06 PM In reply to

• js
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 09-07-2007
    • Brussels
    • Posts 208
    • Silver Member

Re: Beolab PowerLink/Line connection

No one, really?

Many thanks in advance, js

• 06-26-2011 2:37 AM In reply to

Hi. Get in touch with Steve at sounds heavenly his link is at the bottom of the page. He is a wizard when it comes to cables, hope that helps

Cheers Nick

• 06-26-2011 6:36 AM In reply to