in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 05-14-2011 11:38 PM by Søren Mexico. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-13-2011 3:17 PM

Another channel failing on my Beomaster 6000?

Hi,

I have a 4 channel Beomaster 6000 (together with it's tangential beogram brother), which I have enjoyed since acquiring them at a miraculous price a couple of years ago. However, I've only been able to run the amp, up to this point, as a stereo amp using the rear two channels, as one of the front channels was completely non-functioning.

Now just recently I've noticed that one of my rear channels also appears to be failing. It's noticeably quieter than the other, and completely lacking in bass. This is consistent across all inputs and the tuner, and if I swap the speaker connections in the amp, the problem passes to the other speaker - thus eliminating the speaker and the cable from being faulty.

Now... i'd hate to consign this wonderful amp to the cupboard, or allow it to become an exquisitely designed doorstop, so does anyone have any suggestions as to where the fault may lie? Difficult, I know, just based on the symptoms I can describe. However, my first thought (as a completely untrained and experimental home-soldering-iron-weilder) was that it's probably one of the 8 huge transistors attached to the heatsink at the back that's failing....

In these times of austerity I really can't afford to send it for repair, so any guidance on what the prob might be and advice for attempting to fix it myself would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Owen 

Filed under:
  • 05-14-2011 5:38 AM In reply to

• geearr
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-27-2008
    • Gold Coast, Australia
    • Posts 301
    • Gold Member

Re: Another channel failing on my Beomaster 6000?

Hi Owen