in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 04-18-2011 2:53 AM by elephant. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-15-2011 8:07 PM

Beosound 8 faulty

I am intrigued to know if anyone else has noticed on beosound 8. I got my new unit and noticed when I touched metal work on front of Beosound 8 it felt 'furry'. Being an electrical engineer I immediately thought electric shock. I turned power off and couldn't feel anything, on again and felt it again. I then measured with a meter and measured 125Volts to earth/neutral. I of course returned it and the store gave me a new one. Same issue on new one, went into the store and felt the same on their unit, by turning on and off at power point (didn't have a meter to check). The store is of course is investigating, but just intrigued if anyone else has noticed this.

Filed under:
  • 04-16-2011 2:35 AM In reply to

Re: Beosound 8 faulty

On my (much older of course) Beomaster 8000 this is also the fact: I measured a difference of about 120 V between the ground/earth in my home and the ground of BM8000. There is no voltage to the chassis (aluminium panels) though. I don't know, it might be normal?

What is weird is that in  BS8 this voltage seems to be on the chassis (at least in your two cases). Shouldn't the chassis be either isolated or connected to earth/ground with a three prong plug due to safety reasons?

• 04-16-2011 3:22 AM In reply to

• Michael
    • Top 500 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 05-20-2009
    • Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
    • Posts 245
    • Gold Member