in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 11-26-2009 12:05 PM by Graham1982. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-24-2009 4:32 AM

An electronics project

Hi all:

I was wondering if anyone with any electroincs knowledge would be able to help. I have an interest in electroincs yet since my GCSE days I have not touched a soldering iron. I would like a hobby - something to do in the evenings and therefore I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on what I could build as a project.

I guess that as a teacher I could go to the D&T department and get the boards made up without too many problems. I could also buy kits from Maplins. However, I think if I bought one of these I would be building something for the sake of it as opposed to building something I could make use of.

I am not confident enough to start building my own power supplies etc so low voltage stuff would be best. I was thinking something using infa red - perhaps a remote light dimmer or something.

Any help would be appreciated.

Graham

• 11-24-2009 7:04 AM In reply to

Re: An electronics project

How about somehow inserting a CDX into a Beocord 8000 type case so it matches the 6000 and 8000 system. If you could do that then I am sure you would have many people wanting you to build one for them.

• 11-24-2009 7:23 AM In reply to

Graham,

There have been various threads on here about modifying older products - adding MP3 docks, CD's, DVD, new screens etc.....all interesting stuff.

So, if you would like an Avant 28" VCR, curved screen version in silver to tinker with, then its all yours, FOC just come and get it.