in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 11-02-2009 5:50 PM by Jandyt. 24 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (25 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-01-2009 7:57 PM

A Beocenter 2200 world of pain

Hello to everyone, I'm a total novice with all this so please be gentle with me.

I used to dream of one day having a Bang & Olufsen system when I was a kid.  So on impulse, when I was looking at eBay last week, I bought a Beocenter 2200 for £48, and Beovox X25 speakers for £26.95.

I thought I'd got a bargain but it seems I've bought a bit of a lemon, reading the writeups of the 2200 on this site.  But I've never had a high-end hi-fi system before (separates, but quite low-end ones) so it could be a decent introduction to B&O ownership.  It looks great, at any rate.

Anyway, having got the thing home, here the problems start.  First off, the display doesn't light up as it should, just the various red LEDs.  Second, the tape deck doesn't move at all - not the end of the world, I'm not really intending to use it all that much.

But then we reach the record deck. Although it plays when you press the phono button, there is an MMC5 stylus/cartridge on it (which I read is the most important and expensive part), the tonearm skips about rather than playing properly even after I adjusted the counterweight as per the manual.  Feeling under the cartridge, there is a needle there.  But I suspect all this could just mean it's worn out as a working part.  Are my fears right?

Or, as I'm hoping, is there something really obvious and basic that I'm not doing?