in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 10-08-2009 5:54 AM by ophillips. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (21 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-06-2009 7:08 AM

Aquired Beomaster 6000 system - any advice appreciated!

Hi,

I've just got hold of a B&O system, consisting of:

• Beomaster 6000 4-channel (type 2702) receiver (seems to work, except some indicator lamps)
    • Ultrasonic remote control for the above
    • Beogram 6000 tangential tracking turntable (seems to work fine, but unsure of cartridge condition)
    • Beogram 3400 turntable (missing cartridge)
    • Pair of Beovox 5700 speakers (centre domes of the bass drivers have perished, and one has disintegrated)
    • Pair of Beovox S22 speakers

I'm new to the B&O world, but picked the whole lot up for a bargain price on the advice of a friend who advised me that many of the components individually would be worth more than I paid for the system as a whole.

I've managed to find some replacement bulbs, which should be arriving imminently through the post (discontinued, but there seem to be fruit machine bulbs available of the same spec).

Does anyone know where I might find replacement bass drivers, or if they are repairable? The dome at the centre of the cones seems to be rubber, which has completely perished, and one had a small tear which on testing caused it to disintegrate completely.

Also, the only source of replacement cartridges seems to be a US company called Sound Smith, and a single cartridge will cost me more than i paid for the whole of the above system! Are the cartridges 4-channel specific? And do i need to replace with such, given that they're never going to play quadraphonic records? I'll probably keep the 6000 turntable and sell the 3400, although I'm not sure how much I'll get for this minus the cartridge.