in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 04-18-2009 5:26 PM by Webu. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-18-2009 7:11 AM

• Webu
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-07-2008
    • Finland
    • Posts 21
    • Gold Member

Beomaster 4400 power on "kick"

After working with the Beomaster 6000, I really got into taking a closer look on my Beomaster 4400 as well. I've been using it pretty much daily for around 2-3 months and it hasn't let me down so far in terms of very great and enjoyable output.

Anyway, after visually inspecting the components, especially a couple capacitors, I became sligthly worried about its need for a service - might there be something in a bit bad shape since the Beomaster gives quite a kick to the speakers when powered on or is it just normal for this powerful amplifier (My Beomaster 6000 doesn't do that for example)? I mean the speaker cones moving noticably inwards and giving an audible click -  not a very weak one! It's some kind of a peak coming out to the speakers always when powering on the Beomaster. It can be avoided by switching the speakers off before powering up, but might it be a bad idea to do so?

Here's a set of pictures I took, if anyone is interested in taking a look: http://www.verkkojohto.net/webu/bm4400/

Thanks in advance for your opinions, Jouni

• 04-18-2009 7:46 AM In reply to

Re: Beomaster 4400 power on "kick"

Hi,

what is this dirty stuff on the two brown 100/40 caps? Cracks in the plastic?

Martin

• 04-18-2009 7:59 AM In reply to

• Webu
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-07-2008
    • Finland
    • Posts 21
    • Gold Member

Hello Martin,