in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 05-23-2009 2:23 PM by blong. 37 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (38 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-09-2009 9:53 AM

Beomaster 6000 with a fault in the power supply

Hi,

I hope someone can help me solve this problem:

I have a 80s Beomaster 6000 that I bought as a spares unit some time ago.

But now I finally wanted to restore it and I'm having a little problem:

I tested all boards in an other 6000 - they all work fine (well, the output amplifier has some problems, but thats another thing).

The only thing not working is the power supply.

As soon as I plug it in the 160mA fuse blows. So I can't even measure the voltages.

I replaced the obvious faulty parts first - C20 and 21 (the two big caps) were leaking. Sadly I couldn't get a hold of -10 +50% caps, so I used +/-20% ones.

That didn't change anything...

Is it possible that this is caused by a broken relay? The BM had some kind of water (or rather oil) damage - this (hydraulic?) thing that opens the programming lid leaked and the relay got 'wet' (at least on the outside, looks ok otherwise).

• 04-09-2009 11:42 AM In reply to

Re: Beomaster 6000 with a fault in the power supply

Hi,

you can use a regulated DC power supply and connect it to the big caps. Then you can test every power path of the psu and locate the short cut.

Martin

• 04-11-2009 11:48 AM In reply to

• blong
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-20-2009
    • Posts 47
    • Silver Member

Hi = I cam't get a look at the Service Manual for the 6000 'cause the PDF is faulted - but have you checked the power transformer also the bridge rectifiers? (I'm assuming the 6000 is similar to the 5000 PSU-wise) = Brian (Northumberland)

• 04-12-2009 1:10 PM In reply to

• jens m
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 04-17-2007
    • munich, germany