in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 03-31-2009 7:20 AM by joeyboygolf. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-29-2009 6:37 PM

• Dragos
    • Not Ranked
      Male
    • Joined on 10-29-2008
    • Leeds
    • Posts 50
    • Bronze Member

beomaster 5500, x-tra speaker kit, service

Hi, everyone

I've recently got a lovely MCL2A box and transceiver from e-bay as I'm thinking about wiring up a few rooms in my house... I'm a newbie but can learn fast, so please bear with me. I've connected the MCL2A to the 1st set of speaker sockets at the back of my Beomaster, hooked up some speakers to the MLC2A, pressed the transceiver buttons and it all worked beautifully.

Now the thing is that I've been reading as much as I could and in fact for a multi-room system I'm supposed to connect the MCL2A to the 2nd pair of Beomaster sockets. When I do that  nothing happens (but when I connect the speakers directly they work well).  Manual which the seller kindly sent with the kit states that not all Beomaster 5500 have the multi-room functionality enabled. Is that a costly thing to do at a dealer from your experience? (if it turns out to be, I am thinking about leaving an MCL2A and a transceiver in the main room - which is going to cost me a room, but such is life, I guess ...)

I'd also like to budget for a complete service of my Beomaster, Beogram CD and Beocord (they were from e-bay again and I think they would appreciate a proper cleaning; plus the Beogram has a mind of its own and shuts down quite often soon after starting playing...) and if the multi-room functionality was to be done at the same time, it would be great! Can anyone recommend anyone qualified in/around Leeds? Could you give me a rough figure of what to expect? That would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks in advance,