in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-27-2010 8:06 AM by tournedos. 28 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (29 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-13-2009 8:12 AM

• rgs218
    • Top 500 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 01-13-2009
    • Oxfordshire, UK
    • Posts 115
    • Gold Member

Beosystem 5500 - Good Value?

Hi,

I've just joined the forum because I'm looking to buy a Beosystem 5500. I'm new to B&O and don't know that much about it apart from what I've read on here.

I've seen one advertised privately for £325 with all parts apart from the CD player, and includes a pair of Beovox MCX35 speakers. It's supposed to all be in good working order, but not absolutely mint (few light scratches etc). Is this cheap, fair or overpriced? Based on what other pieces of B&O of this age are going for on Ebay it seems fair enough to me but I would appreciate the advice of the experts!

Of course if anyone reading this has a full working Beosystem 5500 (or similar system) they want to sell please let me know.

Thanks 

• 01-13-2009 8:47 AM In reply to

Re: Beosystem 5500 - Good Value?

Welcome to the fourm!

Steer clear of the X35 speakers - they're rubbish and will not do the rest of the system justice.

£325 is a bit steep unless the system is mint and includes the Beogram record player with a decent cartridge (stylus) at this price? I'm guessing you'll want a CD player as well, so you should factor in around £150ish for a CD5500 in good condition. Have you tried looking on eBay - you might find something on there as these systems do come up regularly

President, Beomaster 8000 Appreciation Society

• 01-13-2009 9:10 AM In reply to

• rgs218
    • Top 500 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 01-13-2009
    • Oxfordshire, UK
    • Posts 115
    • Gold Member