in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 08-12-2008 1:32 PM by xegoon. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 08-11-2008 3:58 PM

Beosound 6 vs i-Pod touch opinion

Well count me as one of the last to join the portable MP-3 players crowd.

I am looking in to purchasing our first player and have narrowed it down to two, the Beosound 6 and the i-Pod touch.(I know two totally different players but they are my choices)

I love our local B&O store but I don't want to abuse them in seeking advice on non-B&O products. They have shown me the BS 2 and 6, but I have no experience when it comes to the i-pod products.  From what I can tell, the i-Pod does so much more and for a lot less, but I'm not sure if doing more is that important or is worth complicating my life or frustrating me or my wife to the point we would not use it.  Plus so many of the i-pod products appear to be a "fill it up and throw away" product.

I really want something that is compatible and plays nice with our B&O systems (Beosound 9000 MkII, Beosystem 2500, Beosystem 1) and can be plugged in or docked and controlled with the Beo 4 and played on our linked system and that we can take our music with us when we are away from home..  

I do not have a Mac System and do not anticipate getting one. Also, I do not use/have i-tunes, beoport or beoplayer, nor do I know what is actually needed so I am staring from scratch.

My preference order/criteria is as follows:

1.) Sound quality

2.) Price

3.) Ease of use/incorporation with B&O system, Beo 4

4.) Reliablity, user friendly

5.) Easy download platform, storage, ability to delete/add music from memory 

6.) Bling

Any advice offered from those of you who have experience with both the Beosund 6 and i-Pod Touch would be appreciated.