in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-22-2008 9:39 AM by Toby. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-21-2008 5:44 AM

I made a few adjustments to make my set up sound better!

Hi all,

I want to share a little experience with all of you. I've made a couple of small adjustments to my set up (BL8000+BL7-4+BL2) and I noticed a decent improvement to the quality of sound! Sorry if it's some obvious things that everyone here knows about (I'm a beginner in hi fi's!). The fact that I went into a store to audition the BL9 last weekend inspired me to see how much I could squeeze out of my existing set up, to see if the BL9 is miles ahead to warrant an upgrade.

1) Moved the BL2 to in between the 2 speakers (BL8000) - originally due to a TV cabinet in the loungeroom, my previous arrangement was the BL2 at the very left hand side, then the 2 speakers on each side of the TV cabinet. The BL7-4 I've placed in front of the TV cabinet (I bought it as I plan to get rid of the cabinet later and get an LCD TV and just hang these 2 on the wall). I noticed that moving the BL2 to in between the speakers (ie, close to the centre), the bass sounded tighter (strange? I can't explain why) and seems to be "faster" (as we all know the BL2 is "slow"). The other improvement is that now the direction of the bass is coming from near the middle, it's more natural than it coming from one side (I know bass is supposed to be unidirectional, but you can actually feel a little of which side is stronger!)