in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-03-2008 2:08 PM by Piaf. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-30-2008 4:16 PM

Absolute beginner needs help

Hello everyone,

I'm looking at buying a beogram as i'm moving out and getting my own place. I've been looking on a certain auction site for a while and am in love with the beauty, simplicity and quality of the beagrams, specifically the tangential models like the 4000, 4004, 6000 etc.

My problem is that I am a complete novice and am bamboozled by many of the references sellers make to things like RIAAs, out of production styluss and other things. I have some embarrasingly naive questions to ask, I'd really appreciate your help.

1) Can i play a beogram tangential through a normal high quality amp and speakers or do i need a full B&O system?

2) What other things to I need to be aware of when buying a second hand beogram?

3) What is the best place to buy used beogram turntables?

4) How can I make sure i'm not ripped off when it comes to the value of one of these wonderful machines?

• 01-30-2008 4:23 PM In reply to

• Jandyt
    • Top 10 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 04-01-2007
    • Clitheroe, Lancashire, UK
    • Posts 13,004
    • Founder

Re: Absolute beginner needs help

Hi Hamina and welcome to Beoworld.
    I am not best placed to advise you however I do know that it is not neccessary to have a B&O system but if you want remote control you do.
    I think Peter will be along shortly to advise.

Poor me, never win owt!

• 01-30-2008 4:27 PM In reply to

Welcome to Beoworld!

No question is naive so happy to offer any assistance!