in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 04-30-2007 9:51 AM by badgerhill. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-27-2007 11:30 AM

Confused B&O newbie, please help! - Beocenter 5000

Hi 

I'm new to all this so please forgive my ignorance!

I've just inherited an old Beocenter 5000, but have no idea how to attach any speakers as rather than the usual red and black connectors it has strange (to me!) plugs. Can anyone shed any light on how I can get suitable connectors / speaker cable? Also can I even use non-B&O speakers?

Very confused... please help!

Best wishes
    Mike
    Filed under:
  • 04-27-2007 11:38 AM In reply to

• Kevin
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-15-2007
    • Posts 1,256
    • Founder

Re: Confused B&O newbie, please help! - Beocenter 5000

Hi Mike and welcome to the forum.

The speaker connections are made with Din 2 plugs which are pretty standard.

If you have a Maplins (I'm assuming you're in the UK) they will have them in either a screw or solder format.

You can use any speakers that are rated for the center but B&O will usually sound better than anything out there depending on which you get the CX100's are a nice small speaker for this unit. Have a look at the product guide on the main site.

Then off you goYes 

cheers,

Kevin 

• 04-27-2007 11:47 AM In reply to

Hi 

Thanks for the advice! I'll pop off to Maplin now and start saving for some B&O speakers!

Cheers
    Mike
  • 04-27-2007 4:30 PM In reply to

Any speakers will do - B&O speakers are not necessarily better. The BM5000 is a good amplifier and will drive most speakers well.
  • 04-27-2007 5:24 PM In reply to

• Alex
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-16-2007
    • Bath & Cardiff, UK
    • Posts 2,990
    • Bronze Member