in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 12-10-2007 3:52 PM by Puncher. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-10-2007 1:47 PM

• DavidS
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-10-2007
    • Posts 1
    • Bronze Member

RX2 Turntable - is the speed adjustable, and if so, how?

Hello...I've been enjoying my RX2 now for about 7 years and I'm wondering if, over time, the speed of the turntable needs to be calibrated. It's seems that it's just a hair's breadth slower than it should be, and since everything is automatic with it, adjusting the speed seems like it would be difficult to do. So my questions are:

1) How can you tell if it's rotating at the proper speed? (There's a quasi-geometric pattern on the platter which I wonder if it's not intended as a way of guaging the speed).

2) How can I adjust the speed, if it is, in fact, rotating slower than it should be? 

Thanks for any help/advice.

David 

Filed under: , , ,
  • 12-10-2007 3:06 PM In reply to

Re: RX2 Turntable - is the speed adjustable, and if so, how?

It is possible - there are two variable resistors - one for the 33 speed and one for the 45. I believe if you look at the base of the RX2, there are two small holes and they may even have the speed markings by the, They are situated in a position under the arm at rest.

however if the speed is slowing, consider whether the deck needs servicing -  lubrication and cleaning and probably a new belt are in order. The service manual is on site if you feel adventurous!!

• 12-10-2007 3:52 PM In reply to

• Puncher
    • Top 10 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 03-27-2007
    • Nr. Durham, NE England.
    • Posts 9,588
    • Founder

Re: RX2 Turntable - is the speed adjustable, and if so, how?