in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 03-07-2010 3:14 AM by Claus. 37 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (38 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-11-2009 4:51 PM

Beovox S75 capacitors

Evening Everyone,

I've just bought some tidy looking Beovox S75 speakers. The high frequencies sound more "shh" than "tsst".  Worn out capacitors maybe? I could pay 90 pounds sterling for  an ESR meter but I thought I'd beg for your opinions first.

I am a newbie but already see that cap kits are available: who's dillen and how much do his S75 cap kits cost?

Does anyone have an opinion on who makes the BEST QUALITY capacitors for this job these days?

Honest opinions appreciated

Thanks

PG

• 06-11-2009 6:18 PM In reply to

Re: Beovox S75 capacitors

Could well be capacitors - S75s should sound quite bright when working. You can pay whatever you want for capacitors - Martin (Dillen on site) is skilled at restoring old B&O and I am sure his components will be picked to be good value and performance.

• 06-11-2009 6:41 PM In reply to

Dear Peter

Thanks for the advice on the caps.

Just out of curiosity is your avitar picture Thomas Jefferson?

Paul

• 06-12-2009 1:41 AM In reply to

No, it is one of my ancestors! He is called Brockett Grover and I have his picture as well as those of his wife, mother and mother in law. They are life size oil paintings and hang in my hall. Painted about 1799 at the time of his wedding.

• 06-12-2009 3:10 AM In reply to

• lausvi
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-16-2007
    • Helsinki - Finland
    • Posts 498
    • Gold Member

Hello.