in Search
Untitled Page

ARCHIVED FORUM -- April 2007 to March 2012
READ ONLY FORUM

This is the first Archived Forum which was active between 17th April 2007 and 1st March February 2012

Latest post 02-27-2012 1:05 AM by elephant. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-22-2012 12:44 PM

Electronics for beginners......

Vintage B&O appeals to me for a variety of reasons; I like good design, I like great sound, and I like to see things used beyond their lifespan. Another appeal for me, though, is that I would like to be able to repair old electronics. I'm a guitarist, so there's lots of amps around my house, and I have a late 60's Hammond Organ that needs some love, and it's all soon to be joined by some B&O.

How should a completely inexperienced person start learning to diagnose and repair electronics? If the same question was raised about bicycles, I'd recommend this site: http://sheldonbrown.com/ which introduces you to every part of a bicycle, describes pictorially how to identify components, and also explains every repair technique in terms that a complete neophyte can understand. This site took me from being barely able to change a tube to being able to build a bike from the ground up (except wheels, which still scare me!). Is there a similar resource for vintage electronics, or how would you suggest I start learning?

• 02-22-2012 1:54 PM In reply to

• Paul
    • Top 500 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 10-07-2010
    • The Netherlands
    • Posts 103
    • Gold Member

Re: Electronics for beginners......

Repairing vintage audio is appealing to me as well. With a litle bit of knowledge you can replace most of the components. If I could not find the schematics of it and visually I dont see burn marks or exploded caps, I stop.

http://www.repairfaq.org/REPAIR/F_tshoot.html   Many information about electronical repairs you can find here. Maybe there are better sites, but this is a good starting point I think.